Monday, June 29, 2009

LWE Podcast 23: Aki Latvamäki

(LWE) Little White Ear Buds
Few artists come from as genuine and distinct a perspective as Finland’s Aki Latvamäki. In his bio he speaks of dirt, and in the following interview, he speaks of love. Working at the distant boundaries of what can only ostensibly be described as “tech-house,” Latvamäki (who also records as Artificial Latvamäki) offers up sounds that are more closely tied to experience than invention. Latvamäki’s esoterically titled tracks have appeared on Cocoon’s G compilation, Ellen Allien’s Fabric 34 mix; EPs for Trapez, Mezzotinto, and Budenzauber Recordings; as well as split recordings with LWE favorite Mark August and Dub Kult on Curle Recordings. Latvamäki is also a member of the “junk percussion” group Transistori, who have recently posted to Youtube a documentary of their live work, Transistori Play Toppilan Tehdas, at the factory of Toppila in Latvamäki’s home town of Oulu, Finland. What Latvamäki specializes in is a sound that combines melodic daring, dizzying introspection, and propulsive movement, and this talent is on display both here in this stunning exclusive “mixtape” of unreleased/forthcoming material.

01. Aki Latvamäki, “Straightforward” [Morse Recordings]
02. Aki Latvamäki, “We Had Our Good Moments” [*]
03. Aki Latvamäki, “Mandolin” [*]
04. Aki Latvamäki, “It Is Not Now Either” (live in Satiini, Helsinki 2008) [*]
05. Aki Latvamäki, “Bath Tub Of Full Mutated Bees” (live remix in Satiini) [*]
06. Aki Latvamäki, “Äkta Smak Och Sprödhet” (live remix) [*]
07. Aki Latvamäki ft. Eini Pesälä, “Kun Minä Unohduin Ja Se Olitkin Sinä” [*]
*Denotes unreleased track

Download: LWE Podcast 23: Aki Latvamäki (51:12)

Post a Comment

Total Pageviews