Thursday, January 28, 2010

The Knife with Mt. Sims - Tomorrow In A Year Out Now!

The Knife, in collaboration with Mt. Sims and Planningtorock - 'Tomorrow, In A Year', is now available to buy directly from the Rabid Records store below as a download or pre-order a CD copy and receive the download instantly.

The Knife, Karin’s project with bother Olof, are to release the studio version of the opera ‘Tomorrow, In A Year’, in collaboration with Mt. Sims and Planningtorock, on the 1st March 2010

Commissioned by Danish performance group Hotel Pro Forma to write the music for their opera based on Charles Darwin and his book ‘On the Origin of the Species’, The Knife decided to make this a collaborative process, working with artists Mt. Sims and Planningtorock for the first time, to capture the huge width of the Darwin and evolution theme. They extensively researched Darwin related literature and articles, with Olof attending a field recording workshop in the Amazon to find inspiration and to record sounds.

The first track from the album, called Colouring Of Pigeons, is free to download from the knife’s website here. You can also sign up for more news about The Knife there.

For more information about the album see the full introduction on here.

CD 1
01. Intro
02. Epochs
03. Geology
04. Upheaved
05. Minerals
06. Ebb Tide Explorer
07. Variation of Birds
08. Letter to Henslow
09. Schoal Swarm Orchestra
CD 2
01. Annie’s Box
02. Tumult
03. Colouring of Pigeons
04. Seeds
05. Tomorrow in a Year
06. The Height of Summer
Bonus track
07. Annie's Box (alt. vocal)

The Knife –
Mt. Sims –
Planningtorock –
Hotel Pro Forma –
Fever Ray –
Olof Dreijer –

Post a Comment

Total Pageviews