Thursday, January 21, 2010

LWE Podcast 39: Basic Soul Unit

Podcast 39: Basic Soul Unit

As Basic Soul Unit, Toronto’s Stuart Li has earned a reputation as something of a producer’s producer. Combining the rough-hewn trackiness of underground techno with hazy atmospherics of deep house (not to mention a healthy pinch of low-end and DFA-style synth wackiness), his releases for labels like New Kanada and Mathematics have shown they can play chameleon in practically any discerning record bag. But 2009, which saw his “Dank” single released by Philpot and his track “Things Pass” included in Ostgut Ton’s Panorama Bar 02 EP, scraped away at Li’s underground status, raising the bar on his studio prowess while placing Basic Soul Unit on a whole host of new radars. Whether you call it a 2009 victory lap or harbinger of a stellar 2010 to come, LWE’s 39th podcast, an exclusive mix of heavy, organic, and thoroughly trippy house grooves, gives us a rare and tasty showcase of Li’s DJ chops.

01. Lawrence, “Miles” [Mule Electronic]
02. Thomas Brinkmann, “Isch” (Soulphiction Remisch) [Petite]
03. Rainer Trueby, “Ayer’s Rock” [N/A]
04. Blagger, “Strange Behaviour” (DJ Koze Aka Swahimi Remix) [Perspectiv]
05. Kris Wadsworth, “Mainline” [Hypercolour]
06. Mr Raoul K, “Wind Of Goree” [Mule Musiq]
07. Will Saul & Tam Cooper, “3000AD” (I:Cube Dub Mix) [Simple Records]
08. A.D.P., “Prototype” [Kunstkammer*]
09. Brendon Moeller, “Hustle” [REK'D]
10. Willie Graf & Tuccilo, “Snerata” [Circus Company]
11. Levon Vincent, “Air Raid” [Ovum Recordings]
12. Kris Wadsworth, “Warm Midnight” [Dark Energy Recordings]
13. Andreas Saag, “Jazz Lapse” [Room With A View]
14. Legowelt, “Police 303″ [M>O>S Recordings]
* denotes unreleased tracks

Download: LWE Podcast 39: Basic Soul Unit (66:35)
Post a Comment

Total Pageviews