Monday, February 1, 2010

Juju & Jordash

1. Mark Grusane & Mike Cole - Time and Space (Instrumental)
2. Snuff Crew - Feel Inside
3. Leron Carson - Mechanism
4. Marcus Mixx - Better Spread On Red
5. JTC - King Of The Box
6. Rick Wilhite - Drum Patterns and Memories (Moodymann mix)
7. *forgot the name at the moment*
8. Dam Funk - Galactic Fun
9. Unknown - Tanki Tanki
10. Natcho Patrol - Color Sound
11. Lerosa - Plesso
12. Specter - Body Fusion
13. The Congos - (Carl Craig Edit)
14. Juju & Jordash - Hired Guns
15. Jeff Mills - Untitled
16. Gemini - Counting Sheep


[Amsterdam, The Netherlands. January 15th, 2010] -- Juju & Jordash are giving dance music a good kick in the pants right now, plain and simple. They aren't alone, but they are perhaps the most exciting. Combining their countless years playing jazz and be-bop in bands and electronic production techniques they are creating thrilling new strains of house, techno, dub and jazz. They have an appreciation for older music eras but aren't bound to those traditions-check out their Off Minor radio shows for evidence of this fact. This is readily apparent on their 2nd album, Juju & Jordash, which is due out on Dekmantel later this month. Tracks like "Jazzy Trance" and offer up a peak into an alternate universe where Ornette Coleman, Farley Jackmaster Funk and Ralf Hildenbeutel became the Traveling Wilburys. And on "Dirty Spikes" J&J go balls-to-wall italo combusition. But they also dial it back for reflective moments of murky piano, terse middle eastern motifs and shimmering cymbals as displayed on "Jugdish." I caught up with the two of them to get their perspective on making Juju & Jordash and ended up talking movies, bacon and a bit of politics. [intro and interview by Kuri Kondrak]

 1. Juju & Jordash - Art Ensemble of Chicago (Intro Edit)
  2. Juju & Jordash - Ortnizzaj
  3. Juju & Jordash - NPI
  4. Juju & Jordash - Sleepy Blues
  5. Juju & Jordash - Happy House 1, 2, 3
  6. Juju & Jordash - Short Re-edit
  7. Juju & Jordash - Avian Oasis
  8. Juju & Jordash - Passage thru Synthex
  9. Juju & Jordash - Fajr Dub
10. Juju & Jordash - Hired Guns (Session Outtake)
11. Juju & Jordash - Dirty Spiked Dub
12. Juju & Jordash - Uncle Moon
13. Juju & Jordash - Frisky Perez
14. Juju & Jordash - Same Ol' Day


In an increasingly consensus driven dance music culture, Juju & Jordash let their freak flag fly. More akin to a particularly funky jazz combo or psychedelic rockers than your average production duo, Gal Aner and Jordan Czamanski take a vivid and largely organic approach to making house music that leaves few boundaries left to color outside of. Early on their sui generis sound caught the ears Detroit artists Reggie Dokes and Keith Worthy and garnered releases on their labels (Psychostasia and Aesthetic Audio, respectively) among many others, but the Amsterdam-based pair gained their widest renown with the release of their self-titled sophomore LP on Dekmantel. The present pinnacle of their vibrant, jazz-infused sound found favor with critics and elbowed its way onto several discerning year end lists. It also gave us hope there is much more to come. Gal and Jordan were kind enough to answer a few of our questions between gigs, and put together a whirlwind mix of lush house sounds, industrial textures and ethnic explorations that goes a long way towards explaining their perspective and getting you dancing.

01. Ryuichi Sakamoto, “Steppin’ Into Asia” [Midi Inc.]
02. Aroy Dee, “The Planets” [NWAQ]
03. Tevo Howard, “Dreamer’s Reason” (Club Mix) [Beautiful Granville Records]
04. Rick Wade, “No Place” [Laid]
05. Rick Wade, “Ricky’s Groove” [Laid]
06. Kuniyuki, “Dear African Sky” (Henrik Schwarz Remix Unreleased Live Version) [Endless Flight]
07. Aroy Dee, “The Planets” [NWAQ]
08. Marcus Mixx, “Better Spread On Red” [Let's Pet Puppies]
09. Beautiful Swimmers, “Horizon” [Future Times]
10. My Mine, “Hypnotic Tango” (Instrumental) [Progress Record]
11. Cabaret Voltaire, “Kino” [Virgin]
12. Theo Parrish, “Overyohead” [Sound Signature]
13. Anthony Nicholson, “untitled” [white]
14. Tidiani Koné & Orchestre Poly-Rythmo, “Djanfa Magni” [Analog Africa]
15. The Crystalites, “Concentration Ver. 3″ [Earmark]

LWE Podcast 41: Juju & Jordash (55:42)

1. Off Minor theme (short)
2. Yesterday's New Quintet - Rugged tranquility
3. Pat Metheny - Waiting for an answer
4. Jon Hassel - Sundown dance
5. Sun Ra - Heliocentric
6. Art Ensemble of Chicago - J&J re edit
7. Cosmic Jokers - Galactic Supermarket
8. George Duke - J&J re edit
9. Scott Ferguson - Besus dub
10. Lee Perry - Dubbing With The Super Ape
11. Jah Shaka - Roaring dub
12. Bala Miller and Great Music Pirameeds - Ikon Allah
13. Newworldaquarium - Twenty
14. Sonic Youth - Society is a hole
15. Juju & Jordash - Sleepy blues
16. Sarah Vaughan - Polka dots and moonbeams

Juju & Jordash Off minor Radio show #13 by jujujordash


Juju & Jordash LP (on Dekmantel - Rushhour distribution) by jujujordash

Juju & Jordash LIVE @ Studio 80, Amsterdam from Gno Pants on Vimeo.
Post a Comment

Total Pageviews